泵的气蚀及如何避免

7月 12, 2022

什么是气蚀?

气蚀是指当局部压力迅速降低到液体的蒸汽压力以下时,在液体内部形成蒸汽腔(气泡)。这就在液体内部形成了一个蒸汽泡,这个蒸汽泡通常会持续很短的时间,然后又破裂成液体

破裂过程是很剧烈的,产生巨大的爆裂声,并经常损坏附近的表面。即使是坚硬的金属也会在受到气泡内爆所产生的强烈的局部喷射时出现凹陷。

Lifecycle of a Cavitation Bubble within a Postive Displacement Pump

蒸汽泡的生命周期

在泵的内部,气蚀往往起源于运动部件的后面,其中存在局部的低压区域。客户可能不会注意到,但会开始损坏泵内的部件,必须避免。随着系统入口压力的降低,气蚀将变得更加突出,产生泵的波动,发出巨大的噪音,有时还会导致泵出口处的流体浑浊。

气蚀开始的时间点是非常复杂的。它是流体粘度、蒸汽压力、密度、温度、液压升程、大气压力、泵的类型和泵的转速等因素的综合作用。气蚀的前兆通常是液体中夹带的已有气体的增长。虽然这些气泡不会对泵造成损坏,但会降低流体输送的精度。

入口限制

到目前为止,使用正排量泵时最常见的气蚀现象是由于在泵的入口处使用长

的小直径的管子造成的。通过管道的压降的一般公式为 ,其中。

Q=流量

µ = 动态粘度

L = 卡套管长度

D = 卡套管内径

请注意,压降取决于D4,因此,将管子的内径增加一倍,压降将减少16倍! 上述公式仅适用于层流(雷诺数<2320)。对于湍流,该方程更为复杂,取决于密度而非粘度。

DPP Laminar Flow Versus Turbulent Flow in Tubes

DPP层流与管内湍流的比较

油管并不是液压系统设计者经常忽略的唯一压降来源。入口过滤器、止回阀和孔道都是增加入口真空度的元件。特别是单向阀,必须谨慎选择,以免产生过高的真空。

往复式正排量泵的气蚀现象

往复式正排量泵一般不会像高速旋转泵那样出现内部高度局部气蚀。然而,它们确实具有高度脉动的流量,从而导致峰值流量达到平均流量的三倍。更重要的是,流体的频繁停止/启动会在入口处产生基于惯性的真空。当泵开始通过入口将流体吸入时,后面的流体必须加速。与粘性阻力一样,长的细管对于与流体加速相关的真空度是最差的(与D2成正比)。往复泵的这些方面会让为平均流量设计的系统工程师感到惊讶。

Pulsed Flow in a Reciprocating Pump

往复泵中的脉动流量。

除了前面提到的产生真空的阻力外,高速运动元件会在紧靠运动元件的后面产生低压区域。这在较高直径的部件中是一种风险,如螺旋桨或离心泵的叶轮,对较小的齿轮泵影响不大。然而,在齿轮泵的齿轮啮合处可能会发生内部气蚀,因为两个齿轮之间的空隙打开了,新产生的体积很快就会充满液体。这种影响可以通过精密加工的斜齿轮最小化,产生齿轮啮合的平滑开口。然而,泵的内部机构在转速超过3000转/分的情况下,会在水中产生高达0.1巴的局部压降。

 

Common Cavitation Locations in External Gear Pump

外啮合齿轮泵中常见的气蚀位置

外啮合齿轮泵的常见气蚀位置

蠕动泵和叶泵的流量曲线有比较强的脉动。这种脉动会产生与往复泵类似的瞬时真空。因此,在实施这些类型的泵时必须小心。

净正吸气头 (NPSH)

NPSH是土木工程师常用的一个指标。在这个行业中,离心泵和涡轮机制造商通常会给他们的泵一个NPSH等级,表示在吸气口处需要保持泵不发生气蚀的最小压力。NPSH通常以英尺为单位,因为这是美国土木工程师处理的常见压力(扬程)单位,医疗、食品和饮料以及轻工业应用中的正排量泵通常不会将NPSH值附加到泵上,因为流体、温度、速度和其他操作条件的变化很大。

避免气蚀的最佳方法是在液压系统设计的早期就与泵供应商接触。泵工程师了解他们的泵的灵敏度,知道什么水平的真空是可以容忍的,并且有丰富的经验来定制液压系统以避免气蚀。系统设计人员和泵工程师之间的紧密合作将简化设计过程,避免在设计周期的后期进行反复设计。

索取有关我们解决方案的更多信息

DPP精密泵具有出色的输送精度和一致性,非常适合每次流量都需要完美的应用。
索取资料

了解有关我们解决方案的更多信息

联系我们

Pump Cavitation and How to Avoid It

July 12, 2022

What is Cavitation?

All pumps operate by creating a low pressure at the inlet and allowing atmospheric (or system) pressure to push fluid into the pump. The process makes all pumps susceptible to a phenomenon called cavitation. Cavitation is the formation of vapor cavities (bubbles) inside of a liquid when the local pressure is decreased rapidly below the vapor pressure of the liquid. This forms a vapor bubble inside the liquid which typically lasts for a short time before collapsing back into a liquid. The collapse is violent, producing a loud popping noise and often damaging nearby surfaces. Even strong metals will be pitted when subjected to the strong, localized jet resulting from the bubble implosion. Left unchecked, the damage can eventually destroy the pump.

Lifecycle of a cavitation bubble in fluid pumps

Internal to pumps, cavitation often originates behind a moving part where localized, low pressure regions exist. This may not be noticed by the user, but it will begin to damage components within the pump and must be avoided. As the system inlet pressure is reduced, cavitation will become more prominent, producing pump fluctuations (varying pump speed), emitting loud noise, and sometimes resulting in cloudy fluid at the pump outlet (dissolved air).

The point at which cavitation begins is very complicated. It is a combination of fluid viscosity, vapor pressure, density, temperature, hydraulic lift, atmospheric pressure, pump type, and pump speed. A precursor to cavitation is often growth of pre-existing gas trapped in the liquid. While these bubbles are not a risk to damaging the pump, they can reduce the accuracy of fluid delivery.

dpp-cavitation-in-pump

Inlet Restrictions

By far the most common occurrence of cavitation when using positive displacement pumps results from using long, small diameter tubing on the inlet of the pump. A general equation for the pressure drop through a tube is ∆P=Q∙μ∙(128∙L)/(π∙D^4) where:

Q = flow rate
µ = dynamic viscosity
L = length of tubing
D = tubing inner diameter

Note that the pressure drop is dependent on D4 therefore, doubling the inner diameter of the tube will decrease the pressure drop by a factor of 16! The above equation is for laminar flow only (Reynolds numbers < 2320). For turbulent flow the equation is more complicated and dependent on density instead of viscosity.

DPP Laminar Flow Versus Turbulent Flow in Tubes

Laminar Flow vs. Turbulent Flow in Tubes

Tubing is not the only source of pressure drop often overlooked by hydraulic system designers. Inlet filters, check valves, and orifices are examples of components that increase the vacuum at the inlet. Check valves, in particular, must be carefully chosen as to not create too high of a vacuum.

Diener take special care to design the internal flow paths to minimize restrictions that would lead to high fluid velocities and low-pressure cavitation zones.  Allowing the fluid to move easily decreases the likelihood of cavitation and its destructive effects.

Cavitation in Reciprocating Positive Displacement Pumps

Reciprocating positive displacement pumps do not typically suffer from internal, highly localized cavitation like high speed rotating pumps. However, they do have highly pulsed flow rate, which results in peak flow rates up to three times the average flow rate. More importantly, the frequent stop/start of the fluid generates an inertia-based vacuum on the inlet. As the pump begins to pull fluid in through the inlet, the fluid behind it must accelerate. As with viscous drag, long thin tubing is the worst for vacuum related to fluid acceleration (proportional to D2). These aspects of reciprocating pumps can surprise a system engineer who is designing for the average flow rate.

 

Pulsed Flow in a Reciprocating Pump

Pulsed Flow in a Reciprocating Pump

 

Cavitation in Rotary Positive Displacement Pumps

In addition to vacuum-producing drag previously mentioned, high-speed moving elements create a low-pressure region immediately behind the moving element. This is a risk in higher diameter components such as propellers or the impeller of a centrifugal pump and does not have as strong of an influence on smaller gear pumps. However, internal cavitation can occur in a gear pump at the gear mesh as the void opens between the two gears, and the newly created volume is quickly filled with liquid. This effect can be minimized with precision machined helical gears, generating a smooth opening of the gear mesh. Nevertheless, internal mechanisms within the pump can produce localized pressure drops as high as 0.1 bar in water at speeds above 3000 rpm.

 

Common Cavitation Locations in External Gear Pump

Common Cavitation Locations in External Gear Pump

Peristaltic and lobe pumps have a relatively strong pulsation in their flow profiles. This pulsation produces transient vacuums similar to those in reciprocating pumps. Therefore, care must be taken when implementing these pump types.

Flowrate vs. Inlet Vacuum graph

Net Positive Suction Head (NPSH)

NPSH is a common metric used by civil engineers. Centrifugal pump and turbine manufacturers in this industry often give their pumps an NPSH rating signifying the minimum pressure at the suction port needed to keep the pump from cavitating. NPSH is typically given in units of feet since this is the common unit of pressure (head) dealt with by civil engineers in the U.S. Positive displacement pumps in medical, food and beverage, and light industrial applications do not typically attach NPSH values to pumps because of the large variations in fluids, temperatures, speeds, and other operating conditions.

The best way to avoid cavitation is to engage the pump supplier early in the design of a hydraulic system. Pump engineers understand the sensitivity of their pumps, know what levels of vacuum are tolerable, and have significant experience tailoring hydraulic systems to avoid cavitation. Close collaboration between system designers and pump engineers will streamline the design process and avoid iterations late in the design cycle.

Request more information about our solutions

With their excellent delivery accuracy and consistency, DPP precision pumps are perfect for applications where your flow needs to be perfect each and every time.
Request information

Request information
Learn more about our solutions

Contact Us